Monday, October 10, 2011

Matwork Mistakes Not to Make

One mistake players can make when they hear us talk about connections in matwork is to think that everything has to be connected to everything else. That is not exactly true. I'll write about that some other time, or you can read our book, which is coming along nicely, thank you.

A bigger mistake to make than thinking everything needs to be connected is to get so focused on one move that you forget to make connections. An error we have seen too many times in competition is when a player is attempting an armbar against an opponent who is resisting very strongly, as in STEP 1 below.

Often what happens in this position is - nothing. There is no Step 2. The player on the top exerts a lot of effort trying to get the armbar but the player on the bottom has both arms locked together resisting. The referee stops the match and both players get up.

When I get some more time, I will write about what SHOULD happen in Step 2. I only have a step 2, but Ronda has steps 2 through 9. (I counted. And took pictures.)


Jorge Almeida said...

I like to armbar the opposite arm on step 2 because people tend to forget that they have 2 arms and they only protect one.

Dr. AnnMaria said...

That is the funniest thing I have heard today!

robthornton72 said...

Step one: Do matwork with Ronda.
Step two: Don't piss Ronda off.
Step three. Survive until the bell rings.

Dr. AnnMaria said...

Okay, what are the other six steps then?

robthornton72 said...

After she sent me to the hospital, I didn't get a chance to see those. :)